The Hindic Pantheon

Preliminary Version

from Iron Czar

Agni (He Who Consumes)

Agni is the Lord of Fire, and dwells in Earth.


The share of the Gods, as distinct from the share of mortal men (personified by Bhaga) in the traditions of inheritance.


God of Chivalry (*not,* obviously, the Aeropan version of chivalry)

The Ashvins

Twin brother-deities, possibly the same as, or related in some way to, the Grecian twins Kastor and Polydeukes (Castor and Pollux, in Roman parlance.) They are divine healers, physicians with the power to cure the sick, aged and infirm, and often aid heroes in need.


Lord of Inheritance.

Citragupta (The Scribe of the Lord of Death)

A powerful minion of Yama, it is Citragupta who records the good and ill deeds of men, that they may be judged.


God of Ritual, who makes it possible that mortals worship the Gods correctly.

Indra (The Ruler of Heaven; Lord of the Spheres; Captain of the Celestial Host; Regent of the East; the Embodiment of Might)

Indra is the Chief of the Gods, the ruler of the storm, the source of fertility. Indra is a God of the sky much like Agni is a God of the earth. He is also a patron of the arts, including that of magick. He is often associated with Agni and Surya—the three may be brother-Gods.

Kubera (Regent of the North; Lord of Riches)

God of wealth, King of the yakshas, the protector of travelers, and the compansion of Shiva.

The Maruts

Collective name for a host of minor deities. There are seven groups of seven maruts—they are the friends of Indra, who is their chief.


God of friendship.

Nirrta (Regent of the Southwest)

Hermaphroditic God of Misery (called Nirrti in its female aspect), also the patron of Elves, protector of ghosts, those born with handicaps and those who wander abroad in the night. Some folk make offerings to him to isure victory over their enemies.

Pushan (the Nourisher)

Protector of cattle.

Savitri (the Vivifier)

God of the Word, of power through speech, of magic in utterances.

Shakra (the Mighty)

God of Courage.

Soma (the Luminous; Regent of the Northeast)

God of the Moon, presider over the seas, protector of plants, source of Immortality.

Surya (Regent of the Southwest)

God of the Sun, source of all Light, warmth and knowledge.

Trita (The Third)

Mysterious water-deity and Servant of Indra.

Tvashtri (the Shaper)

God of craftsmanship, industry and skill.

Varuna (the Knower; Greatest of Poets; The Law of the Gods)

Varuna governs the interactions of Gods and mortals. He has great power overe the Planes and Spheres, and indeed is often invoked as a patron of magick.

Vayu (Regent of the Northwest; the Life-Breath of the World, the Wanderer)

God of Wind and Life, and the patron of Speech.

Vishnu (the Pervader)

God of knowledge.

Vivasvat (the Ancestor; Embodiment of Mortality)

Vivasvat is born into mortal form, though he is posessed of great might when he come into his divine heritage. He lives out his alloted span, dies and is reincarnated. He is the only Hindic deity to follow the same birth-life-death-rebirth cycle as mortals.

The Yakshas (The Mysterious Ones)

The protectors, bodyguards and servants of Kubera, and guardians of the earth's trasures.

Yama (The Binder; the King of Ancestors; Lord of Death; Keeper of the Law; Regent of the South.)

It is Yama, according to the holy Vedas, who binds mankind to the cycle of Death and Rebirth. He is the God of Justice, who punishes those who commit evil deeds.